Saint John’s College was founded by the Right Rev’d A.V. Green (Bishop of Grafton and Armidale) in 1898: it began its life as a small cottage in Armidale as "the poor man’s college". The Bishop was the Warden and there were four students. New buildings were added by successive wardens. In 1918 the Rev’d E.H. Burgmann was appointed Warden and St. John’s entered upon a new and exciting chapter. Up to this time, the College had belonged to Armidale Diocese, although it had accepted students from other dioceses. The new Warden proposed that the College be a training centre for New South Wales and Queensland clergy, but this was not proceeded with. The Bishop of Newcastle (the Right Rev’d R. Stephen) announced that his diocese would welcome the College: land was offered, adjoining old Bishopscourt at Morpeth, originally the home of Lieutenant Close. A charming set of buildings for the re-located College was opened in May, 1926. Various buildings have been added since then, including the College Chapel (1941).
Photographs relating to St John's Theological College, Anglican Diocese of Newcastle, NSW, Australia. More information is available at the University of Newcastle's Special Collections website .
Please contact us if you are the subject of the image, or know the subject of the image, and have cultural or other reservations about the image being displayed on this website and would like to discuss this with us.